Posts Tagged ‘Samajwadi’

Who is the most popular Chief Minister in India?

In India, Politics on ஜூன் 8, 2009 at 6:14 பிப

Question: After this election who would you prefer as the next Chief Minister of [State name]?
Naveen Patnaik 63
Nitish Kumar 61
Shivraj Singh Chauhan 50
Sheila Dikshit 49
Narendra Modi 45
Raman Singh 40
Ashok Gehlot 40
Prem Kumar Dhumal 39
B.S. Yeddyurappa 33
Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee 30
B.C. Khanduri 30
Mayawati 27
Parkash Singh Badal 27
Omar Abdullah 18

Source: The Hindu: How India Voted in 2009 Parliament Elections: MP Polls

The biggest losers in the 2009 polls

In India, Politics, Tamilnadu on மே 17, 2009 at 7:55 பிப

  1. Ram Vilas Paswan in Hajipur; Party: Lok Janshakti Party
  2. Vaiko in Virudhunagar; Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  3. Lalu Prasad Yadav in Pataliputra; Rashtriya Janata Dal
  4. S Bangarappa in Shimoga; Indian National Congress
  5. Renuka Chowdhary in Khammam; Indian National Congress
  6. C K Jaffer Sharief in Bangalore North; Indian National Congress
  7. Mani Shankar Aiyar in Mayiladuthurai; Indian National Congress
  8. Alva Margaret in Uttara Kannada; Indian National Congress
  9. Veteran socialist leader George Fernandes in Muzaffarpur – Independent
  10. Union Minister for Minority Affairs A R Antulay in Raigad; Indian National Congress
  11. Cricketer turned-politician and BJP candidate from East Delhi Chetan Chouhan
  12. Don turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari in Varanasi – BSP
  13. Muslim leaders of the BJP – Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi in Rampur
  14. BJP Vinod Khanna in Gurdaspur, Punjab
  15. SP – Lucknow: Nafisa Ali
  16. Mandya – Union Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Ambareesh; Indian National Congress
  17. Chiranjeevi’s brother-in-law Allu Arvind, in Anakapalle: Praja Rajyam Party
  18. Roja, from Chandragiri – TDP
  19. Raj Babbar from Fatehpur-Sikri; Indian National Congress
  20. Small screen star Shekhar Suman lost his deposit against Bollywood actor Shatrughan Sinha in Patna Sahib; Indian National Congress

The top ten tainted MPs in 15th Lok Sabha

In India, Politics on மே 17, 2009 at 7:36 பிப

Source: 17.2 per cent rise in criminal turned MPs: Report: “The Bharatiya Janata Party tops the list of criminal candidates with 42. The Congress is a close second with 41 tainted candidates. Among the states Uttar Pradesh tops the list with 31 criminal candidates of which 22 have serious charges. Maharashtra comes second among the states with 23 candidtates with criminal charges.”

Note: Affidavits of 8 new MPs (all from Tamil Nadu) are not available on Election commission’s website.

1. Jagadish Sharma of Janata Dal- United elected from the Jahanabad constituency tops the list. He is an accused in 6 cases and there are 17 serious counts under the Indian Penal Code booked against him.

2. Bal Kumar Patel of the Samajwadi Party from the Mirzapur constituency in Uttar Pradesh is an accused in 10 cases and has 13 serious counts under the IPC.

3. Prabhath Singh Pratap Singh Chauvan of the Bharatiya Janata Party elected from Pachamal, Gujarat has three cases and 10 serious counts under the IPC.

4. Kapil Muni Karwariya of Bahujan Samaj Party elected from Phulpur, UP has 4 cases and 8 serious counts under the IPC.

5. P Karunakaran of Communist Party of India-Marxist from Kasargod, Kerala has 12 cases and 6 serious counts under the IPC.

6. Lalu Prasad Yadav of the Rashtriya Janata Dal from Bihar, Saran has 2 cases and 6 serious counts under the IPC.

7. Kunwarjibhai Mohanbhai Bavaliya of Congress from Rajkot, Gujarat has 2 cases with 6 serious counts under the IPC.

8. Vittalrao Hansrajbhai Radadiya of the Congress from Porbandar, Gujarat has 16 cases with 5 serious IPC counts.

9. Feroze Varun Gandhi of BJP from Pilibhit, UP has 6 cases and 5 cases with serious IPC counts.

10. Chandrakanth Raghunath Patil of BJP from Navsari has 6 cases and 5 cases with serious IPC counts.

Notable Omission: DMK‘s Madurai MP M.K. Alagiri with 19+ Crore assets