Posts Tagged ‘Alagiri’

Tamil Nadu 2009 Elections: Large proportion of Congress voters shift to DMDK

In Lists on ஜூன் 8, 2009 at 6:33 பிப

DMK + Congress + Thol Thiruma VCK AIADMK, MDMK, PMK, CPI, Marxists Vijayganth DMDK
Congress-2004 52 21 15
DMK 2004 71 10 7
PMK 2004 12 75 9
MDMK 2004 20 60 7
AIADMK 2004 11 65 5

DMK-Congress alliance in Tamil Nadu: Social basis of voting

In India, Politics, Tamilnadu on ஜூன் 8, 2009 at 6:27 பிப

Caste/communities Vote  share  of  DMK + Congress + Thol Thiruma VCK
Vijayganth DMDK
Upper castes 39 37 13
Thevars 33 47 13
Vanniyars 46 42 6
Mudaliars 50 30 5
Lower OBCs 34 44 12
Dalits 43 28 11
Muslims 38 17 6

Nine Dynasties in new Parliament: Family Pairs

In India, Politics on ஜூன் 5, 2009 at 2:04 முப

Source: Family pride in Lok Sabha – India – The Times of India

  1. Congress: Sonia and Rahul Gandhi – Rae Bareli and Amethi
  2. Samajwadi Party: Mulayam Singh Yadav and son Akhilesh – Mainpuri and Kannauj constituencies in UP
  3. BJP: Maneka Gandhi & Varun Gandi: Uttar Pradesh – Aonla & Pilibhit
  4. Ajit Singh (Baghpat) and Jayant Choudhury (Mathura)
  5. Sharad Pawar & daughter Supriya Sule – Baramati (Maharashtra)
  6. Trinamool Congress: Sisir and Subhendu Adhikary – West Bengal (Kanthi in East Midnapur, his son won the Tamluk seat where Nandigram is situated)
  7. Karnataka – H D Devegowda and his son H D Kumaraswamy


  1. Prospective mother-son pair missed out with former Punjab CM Amarinder Singh‘s son Raninder losing from Bhatinda. Amarinder’s wife Preneet Kaur won from Patiala.
  2. BJP: “Gorkha” face Jaswant Singh and son Manvendra could have been another but for the latter’s defeat in Barmer.

The top ten tainted MPs in 15th Lok Sabha

In India, Politics on மே 17, 2009 at 7:36 பிப

Source: 17.2 per cent rise in criminal turned MPs: Report: “The Bharatiya Janata Party tops the list of criminal candidates with 42. The Congress is a close second with 41 tainted candidates. Among the states Uttar Pradesh tops the list with 31 criminal candidates of which 22 have serious charges. Maharashtra comes second among the states with 23 candidtates with criminal charges.”

Note: Affidavits of 8 new MPs (all from Tamil Nadu) are not available on Election commission’s website.

1. Jagadish Sharma of Janata Dal- United elected from the Jahanabad constituency tops the list. He is an accused in 6 cases and there are 17 serious counts under the Indian Penal Code booked against him.

2. Bal Kumar Patel of the Samajwadi Party from the Mirzapur constituency in Uttar Pradesh is an accused in 10 cases and has 13 serious counts under the IPC.

3. Prabhath Singh Pratap Singh Chauvan of the Bharatiya Janata Party elected from Pachamal, Gujarat has three cases and 10 serious counts under the IPC.

4. Kapil Muni Karwariya of Bahujan Samaj Party elected from Phulpur, UP has 4 cases and 8 serious counts under the IPC.

5. P Karunakaran of Communist Party of India-Marxist from Kasargod, Kerala has 12 cases and 6 serious counts under the IPC.

6. Lalu Prasad Yadav of the Rashtriya Janata Dal from Bihar, Saran has 2 cases and 6 serious counts under the IPC.

7. Kunwarjibhai Mohanbhai Bavaliya of Congress from Rajkot, Gujarat has 2 cases with 6 serious counts under the IPC.

8. Vittalrao Hansrajbhai Radadiya of the Congress from Porbandar, Gujarat has 16 cases with 5 serious IPC counts.

9. Feroze Varun Gandhi of BJP from Pilibhit, UP has 6 cases and 5 cases with serious IPC counts.

10. Chandrakanth Raghunath Patil of BJP from Navsari has 6 cases and 5 cases with serious IPC counts.

Notable Omission: DMK‘s Madurai MP M.K. Alagiri with 19+ Crore assets

Election Posters: India Poll Advertising

In Lists on மே 5, 2009 at 6:35 பிப

Madurai Lok Sabha Constituency: Complaints given by the CPI(M)

In Politics, Tamilnadu on ஏப்ரல் 29, 2009 at 5:04 பிப

CPI(M) candidate P. Mohan is pitted against the DMK candidate and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi’s son M K Azaghiri in Madurai.

1. Complaint against distribution of consumer goods to voters by the DMK (dated 03.03.2009)

2. Complaint against conducting Medical camp in the name of birthday celebration of the DMK candidate (03.03.2009)

3. Complaint against the District Election Officer for not taking action against violation of model code of conduct (05.03.2009)

4. Complaint against bulk applications for inclusion in the voters list (20.03.2009)

5. Complaint against distribution of cash, sarees etc to the voters by the DMK and distribution of cash to self help groups (28.03.2009)

6. Complaint against distribution of money to the voters by the DMK (31.03.2009)

7. Complaint against using the marriage halls for preparing pockets of cash by the DMK (03.04.2009)

8. Complaint on utilising places of worship for electoral campaign by DMK candidate (08.04.2009)

9. Complaint by Nanmaran MLA (Communist Party of India (Marxist)) for changing the District Collector of Madurai for his partisan behaviour (15.04.2009)

10. Complaint of inaction by the police against the murderous attack on Mr.Vijaya Rajan party member (15.04.2009)

11. Complaint against disruption of CPI (M) election meeting by DMK men (16.04.2009)

12. Complaint against misuse of police machinery to arrest our cadres on false complaints by the ruling party (16.04.2009)

13. Complaint against inaction by the police against the murderous attack on Mr.Nanmaran MLA (17.04.2009)

14. Complaint against misuse of office by the Public Relations Officer for electoral campaigns of the DMK candidate (18.04.2009)

15. Complaint against distribution of ‘tokens’ to the voters by the DMK men in Madurai Lok Sabha constituency (22.04.2009).